Knitting update, in which I confess my folly.

Knitting, like other crafts, has benchmark projects. You start with a scarf, and next you try a hat, and then maybe you do handbag or a wrap, and afterwards a shrug. Somewhere in there, you make the break from garter and stockinette to ribbing; you might even sneak in a cable or two. The point is that there’s a hierarchy here, and one simply Does Not Mess With That Shit.

But I did. I did! I admit it. I got cocky. I decided to skip the next rung of the ladder, and move directly on to lace.

I now see the error of my ways.

Not that I’ll be abandoning my Baltic Sea Stole – I’m far too stubborn for that. No, I’ll keep struggling with it, cursing its parents and unborn children unto the ninth generation as I rip it back to the border for the umpteenth time.

Chastened, I have decided to obey the scala kniturae. I am now diligently working on socks.

  • Little Pink Sock
    First, my practice sock (toe-up):
    littlepinksock1.jpg
    I bound off just a couple of rows after turning the heel. I was bored. Sue me.
    littlepinksock2.jpg
    This sock has since become a cat toy.
  • Sincere Attempt Sock
    pawmodel.jpg
    This sock, modeled here by Gawain, is a top-down, four-stitch repeat with an elongated corded rib, from Sensational Knitted Socks. I love this book, by the way.
    fixingtension.jpg
    Gawain was also kind enough to fix my tension.
  • Fishnets (originally typed as “fishnest”)
    Okay, so they’re not exactly socks.
    fishnet.jpg
    Modeled by the ever-patient Arthur.
    fishnetmodel.jpg

Further bulletins as events – or socks – warrant.

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    miss kendra said,

    I HATE FISHNETS. i will never ever ever make these again.

    i’m at the part where i just windowpane till 27″. 27????? grrr.

    tell gawain and arthur i love them and i will bring turkey next time.

  2. 2

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    I *likey* the fish nests!!! Is that a shared pattern? I don’t know that I’ll ever wear them, but they look cool. . . Oooh! In a hot pink.

  3. 3

    uccellina said,

    MonkeyGurrl: Stitch ‘n Bitch Nation, bay-bee. There are photos of them in hot pink.

  4. 4

    sb said,

    So good of the cats to help πŸ™‚ I like the blue sock-in-progress.

  5. 6

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Oh, it figures. I got the OG SnB. When I saw all the ponchos in Nation, I got discouraged. Looks like Imma gonna have to pick it up after all!

    So. You gonna wear those on Thursday? πŸ™‚

  6. 7

    Mom said,

    On the scala kniturae I guess I’m somewhere in the pre-Cambrian.

  7. 8

    I love that sock book too.

    Too bad you are so discouraged by the sea shawl. 😦

    Damn lace!

  8. 9

    Laurie Ann said,

    That explains why I have a not-yet-finished hat for my Daddy, a semi-lacy scarf that never got past the third repeat. I screwed with the hierarchy. I must go back to the hat.

  9. 10

    uccellina said,

    Mom: Sure! Except for, y’know, geological eras not being part of the scala naturae. But whatever πŸ™‚

  10. 11

    Mom said,

    Well, OK.

  11. 12

    ladylinoleum said,

    Screw the hierarchy. I am a firm believer in diving in and learning as you go. When I began knitting at the ripe old age of 7 my grandmother started me on a sweater WITH CABLES. I didn’t know any different and because of that I also didn’t know that it was a difficult project to begin with. You go girl with your socks and stockings!

  12. 13

    SilliGirl said,

    I want to see a picture of the fishnets on someone’s leg!

  13. 14

    tony said,

    wow i typed in sincere sock in google and it came with this!! i was pretty unimpressed it was a bit of an anti-climax! and hey im 15!!! have fun with the knitting!!!

  14. 15

    uccellina said,

    I am sorry to have been anti-climactic for you, Tony. Have fun being 15!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

