Roving, roving, roving, keep that spindle rolling.

I swore I wouldn’t get sucked into spinning.

I lied.

spin1

I stole that photo from Sachi. This one, too.

spin2

I’m using the small photos so you won’t be able to tell how lousy I am at this.

Lena Linoleum did a lot of needle felting this past week, and turned out this beauty for me:

Sheep

Sheep! Sheep with butth0le!

Sheep b0tt0m

Sheep with n1pples!

Sheep n1pples

I made the sheep a shelf on which to perch in my office.

Sheep on a shelf

Every time I look at the sheep, I am reminded of one of my favorite stories,The Little Prince.

“If you please–draw me a sheep . . .”

When a mystery is too overpowering, one dare not disobey. Absurd as it might seem to me, a thousand miles from any human habitation and in danger of death, I took out of my pocket a sheet of paper and my fountain-pen. But then I remembered how my studies had been concentrated on geography, history, arithmetic and grammar, and I told the little chap (a little crossly, too) that I did not know how to draw. He answered me:

“That doesn’t matter. Draw me a sheep . . .”

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Laurie Ann said,

    I love the Medium Large cartoons on your bulletin board. I’m in love with T.O.D.D.
    You, too, are whimsically programmed.

  2. 2

    Sachi said,

    Honey, you soooo don’t suck at spinning. This fiber is going to make the most gorgeous of singles from which you will knit the MOST gorgeous of scarves or hat or muffler or cowl. (I vote for hat with a scarf on really big needles.) You need some encouragement? Check out the first singles these people spun.





  3. 3

    Mom said,

    Love the sheep. Will you have to dye your yarn when you’re done spindling?

  4. 4

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Love the sheep. And the fact it enjoys its SheepShelf. And I like saying that repeatedly – sheepshelfsheepshelfsheepshelf.

    I’m easily amused. May account for why I’m so fond of you. . .

  5. 5

    uccellina said,

    Laurie Ann: MLG is the absolute best. This is my most recent favorite.

    Sachi: Thank you for your help and encouragement. I still suck, but thank you!

    Mom: Uh, we’ll see. Depends on whether I think it’s worth wasting the Kool-Aid.

    MonkeyGurrl: I like saying sheepshelf too.

  6. 6

    habetrot said,

    “. . .so you won’t be able to tell how lousy I am at this.”

    That doesn’t matter. Spin me some yarn.

    😀

  7. 7

    Husband said,

    She’s ALWAYS spinning yarns.

  8. 8

    Mom said,

    Now I’ll have to start growing dye plants in my herb garden.

  9. 9

    A said,

    I’m intensely jealous! I have all the equipment to spin (provided at holidays by sb) but can’t find someone to give me lessons. I have seen the online instructions; I am not coordinated enough to follow them. Yet I have a fantasy that I’ll learn to spin, move to Maine or New Hampshire, and spin lovely yarn to sell to yarn shops, thus allowing me to retire before the age of 104. right.

  10. 10

    habetrot said,

    Another thought. Want smaller yarn?

    Big spindle ==> big yarn

    Smaller spindle ==> smaller yarn

    Just sayin’.

  11. 11

    Writer2 said,

    Can’t wait to read the (knitted, spun) book; no doubt the narrative will make a good yarn.

  12. 12

    bloglily said,

    I do so like that bit from the Little Prince — if the narrator can draw a sheep, you can certainly spin!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

