@%*$)#!!!.

.

Yesterday, when Lawyer came in, he cheerfully announced that I was to meet with some clients today. In their office. An hour or more away. Oh – and I had to draw up all of their estate documents by the end of the day. Which is fine and all, but it means I didn’t get through much of the Pile of Doom. And today is my knitter’s – I mean “file clerk’s” – first day, so I’ll be supervising her all morning.

Thankfully, Elsewhere tagged me with this meme, thereby providing me an easy out for today.


1. One book you have read more than once

The Just So Stories, by Rudyard Kipling. O, my Best Beloved, I have
read it at least a thousand and three times. Most recently, while walking with Husband to brunch, I read to him the stories of How The Rhinocerous Got His Skin, How The Camel Got His Hump, and The Cat Who Walked By Himself. Most astounding to relate, I read aloud as I walked, and did not fall down.

2. One book you would want on a desert island.

How to Survive On A Desert Island. Or perhaps The Swiss Family
Robinson
. Because I’d need all the tips I could get.

3. One book that made you laugh.

The Treehorn Trilogy, by Florence Parry Heide. Treehorn is a small boy with a unique outlook on the world. Sometimes he shrinks, much to his parents’ irritation.

4. One book that made you cry.

The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffeneger. A book about love across years. Husband and I read it together, trading it back and forth, and as we read we said over and over again, “it’s about us!” Then we reached the end, and said tearfully, “it’s not about us.”

5. One book you wish you had written.

The Last Unicorn, actually written by Peter S. Beagle. I would also
cheerfully take credit for Little, Big, by John Crowley.

6. One book you wish had never been written.

Pick anything by Ann Coulter.

7. One book you are currently reading.

The Passion of Mary Magdalen
, by my friend Elizabeth Cunningham.

8. One book you have been meaning to read.

The Life Of Pi, by Yann Martel, on Miss Kendra’s recommendation.


9. One book that changed your life.

The Armless Maiden, a collection edited by Terri Windling, of the Endicott Studio. This book really opened up new ways of telling stories for me.

10. Now tag five people:

You, you, you, you, and you.

Now my knit – er, File Clerk is here, and I must go pretend to be all grown up.

Edited to add: I have an idea – why don’t y’all pick one or more of these questions and answer them in comments?

Also: The typewriter is bent on my destruction.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    miss kendra said,

    and a girl named zippy!

  2. 2

    Laurie Ann said,

    Books, books, books–Is there anything more wonderful than a book? I think not.

    Read more than once? oh, pretty much every book I own.
    Desert Island Book? Collected Works of Lewis Carroll
    Made me laugh? Lamb:The Gospel according to Biff by Christopher Moore
    Made me cry? The Lovely Bones(Alice Sebold); Dogs of Babel(Carolyn Parkhurst)
    Wish I’d Written? The Harry Potter books, because I’d be sittin’ pretty right now.
    Currently reading? The Coffee Trader(David Liss) recommended by Uccellina herself
    Changed my life? Where The Wild Things Are because it taught me to face my fears (the cover was really scary to me) and Clifford The Big Red Dog because it made me the voracious reader I am today.

  3. 3

    SilliGirl said,

    I’m going to pretend that you really tagged me and do the meme in my own blog, but I just had to have another Time Traveler’s Wife Moment. I freakin love that book. Everyone I recommend it to loves it, and I want her to write another novel soon.

    And Laurie Ann: I was just thinking that I don’t know if I have any books that have made me laugh, and then I saw your post. Lamb was fabulous, wasn’t it? It totally made me love Jesus in a way I never thought possible (I’m not Christian).

  4. 4

    1. One book you have read more than once

    The first one that came to mind was The Catcher in the Rye. I think I read it about every half-Saturn Return, which seems sensical. It’s different every time. Someone at work the other day said it was “pretentious.” I was shocked- outraged, I tell you- but also a little bit worried that the next time I read it I may think he’s right.

    3. One book that made you laugh.

    Lamb was the first one I thought of, and I’m happy to see that I wasn’t the only one. If this was still the ’70s, it would have been a movie by now. It’s not that I think a movie is any sort of validation, it’s just that I’d like to be living in a time where I could even imagine it was a possibility.

    4. One book that made you cry.

    If by “cry” you mean “not laugh” or “get all sad and emotional and stuff” then I’m thinking A Prayer for Owen Meany. Come to think of it, there was a lot of laughs in that one as well.

    I’ve got to admit, though, that the first time I read The Giving Tree to my son I got a little hoarse toward the end.

    5. One book you wish you had written.

    All of the above, and then some.

    6. One book you wish had never been written.

    Inside the Arab Mind. All I really know about this book is that it was used as the basis for our interrogation methods and treatment of people at Guantanamo and Abu Ghraib. This was probably not the author’s intentions. Of course, as a card-carrying liberal I have to mention that wishing something had never been written is not the same as wanting it banned. Besides, the damage has already been done.

    8. One book you have been meaning to read.

    One? I’ve got a bookcase full of them.

    9. One book that changed your life.

    Son of Mad. The first time I saw Harvey Kurtzman’s Mad comics.

  5. 5

    mom said,

    1. So many choices… But Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings is the one I’ve read most often. I just like walking along through T’s vision of England.
    2. Desert island, something with a lot of water in it. Can’t decide.
    3. This morning in class I was talking about TH White’s Once and Future King – the image of Man as an embryo in the first book. Then I remembered how much the Sword in the Stone (not the movie) made me laugh.

  6. 6

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    You use a TYPEWRITER?!!!!

  7. 7

    A said,

    I’m with Mom on Tolkien. (Wish I could have gone to Syracuse a year earlier – he was a guest lecturer then)

    I did read Life of Pi – this is probably blasphemous coming from a librarian talking about a book with reasonably decent reviews, but I thought it was really rather pedestrian.

    Just read Sword of the Rightful King by Yolen – it’s a YA novel – an interesting little twist on the Arthur legend…

  8. 8

    desiknitter said,

    Read more than once? Several, several, esp. Salman Rushdie’s Haroun & the Sea of Stories

    Desert Island Book? Can’t think of one.

    Made me laugh? A Marathi collection of short stories called “Vanvaas” (exile), by Prakash N. Sant, about a young boy who lives with his grandparents.

    Made me cry? End of the Affair by Graham Greene

    Currently reading? Maj Sjowell and Per Wahloo: The Man Who Went Up in Smoke (swedish mystery)

    Changed my life? Cant think of any single one, except for maybe a knitting manual.

  9. 9

    uccellina said,

    Desi, Haroun and the Sea of Stories is one of my favorite, favorite books of all time.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

