Friday whatever-this-is.

As pixels shift, I sit and stare;
the internet, it tells me where
and when and how the news goes down,
and where to get cheap gas in town,
and from what foods I should abstain
so Mad Cow doesn’t eat my brain
or Botulism rot my gut.
It tells me of the Church’s smut,
and corporations’ efforts to
steal the pensions that accrue
through workers’ labor
. It tells me
of nuclear tests in North Korea,
and how Madonna has adopted
(Angelina’s trend co-opted!).
It speaks of AIDS, and war, and death,
and tells me not to hold my breath
while waiting for the revolution,
but provides no good solution.
So then I look up knitting sites,
and gossip blogs, and bits and bytes
of fluffy stuff that does not frighten,
rather serves to ease and lighten
all my cares. Then I eat food,
and upload photos that are rude.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Thank you, Doctor Seuss.

  2. 2

    miss kendra said,

    that was fun.

    do it again.

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    I knew I shouldn’t have let you read Hilaire Belloc.

  4. 4

    Husband said,

    You told me you were going to work,
    To toil and slave (but never shirk),
    And now I find that you’ve been playing,
    Not working hard like you were saying.

    Instead of forming corporations,
    You’ve been ogling new sensations
    On Gawker, YouTube and Defamer
    And other sites that are even lamer.

  5. 5

    Excellent! Most Excellent!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

