Nitpicking.

Grandma Secretary on phone:

We don’t have anyone here right now who speaks Español.

[pause]

Oh, your English is good! You know, if you dropped me in Mexico, all I could say is cerveza.

[pause]

Oh, you’re from El Salvador?

_____________________________________

Spanish-speaking countries

I’m just sayin’.

And while I’m just sayin’, I’m gonna say go read this post, by brownfemipower, about what’s happening in Oaxaca right now, and why you should care.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mom said,

    Did I not see Spain on this list?

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    OH, never mind. It was in the middle.

  3. 3

    Annika said,

    Cerveza is most of my Spanish. Baño is the rest. One does lead to the other.

    Not to say that Grandma Secretary is anything but a waste of flesh. Just showing off my excellent bilingual skillz.

  4. 4

    Hyphen said,

    I know shes the bane of your existence, but I really, really love your Grandma Secretary stories.

    You should publish them. 😛 And just so you don’t end up sued I’ll let you borrow some of my stories about my hick father-in-law. You know, for DIVERSITY.

  5. 5

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    My own personal Grandma Secretary (or she would be a grandma, if she hadn’t single-handedly f’d up her 3 sons) recently got into a show-down with her attorney. She vehemently requested a reassignment. She’s around the corner, yet I hear *every* word. Gawd, it can’t happen soon enough.

  6. 6

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    BTW, your link to the chaos in Oaxaca had this headliner on the sidebar – “Brad Pitt is wet and in boxers”. No way I could pass that up. Especially where it said “Enlarge picture”. Hee, hee.

  7. 7

    mushyhead said,

    You can tell I have the alcohol tolerance of a preschooler, I had no idea what cerveza meant. My memories of high school Spanish include Me gusto_______, Me llamo _______, iglesia, and la asignacion– which I’m not entirely sure is correct anyhow.

  8. 8

    nora said,

    Hey,

    Send an email to me at my gmail address if you get a chance. Whatever I thought your email was isn’t working…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

