Tell me all about it.

I voted.

I voted before work this morning. The actual vote-marking part was easy enough, although they had me down under my maiden name, which I changed two years ago. But they were perfectly willing to change it for me today. They didn’t request ID this time – last time, a woman looked at Husband’s license and told him, “it doesn’t look like you,” and tried to prevent him from voting.

The main problem I had was finding my polling place. It’s inside Puzzletown, tucked away in a laundry room some distance from the street, and there were only two signs along the way, neither of which had arrows. When I expressed my concern to the poll workers, they told me that they had trouble finding it when they arrived this morning.

How about you people? Share your voting tale in comments, and report any problems here.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    I’m going after work. New location for us. Whenever I go to vote, I am reminded of the several years my girlfriend and I ran the polls in San Diego, located inside a police precinct. Don’t tell me that didn’t have an affect on the turnout!

    But, my, we *did* have fun!

  2. 2

    miss kendra said,

    i voted! it was uneventful. there was no line, even. i just went right on in.

    it was very warm in there. does that make this comment interesting? they were also having a school related back sale.

  3. 3

    miss kendra said,

    not back. bake. geez woman.

  4. 4

    Annika said,

    I was also listed under my maiden name. They had no interest in changing it for me. Also, Sam tried to eat my ballot. Otherwise everything went well. (I abstained on the judicial candidates because I did not have enough information.)

  5. 5

    elsewhere said,

    We all have our fingers crossed for a Democrat victory, here on the other side of the planet.

  6. 6

    I voted, with the baby in tow. We didn’t get a sticker. I’m very, very disapointed.

  7. 7

    Hyphen said,

    Absentee. Quick, easy, no machines. Yay.

  8. 8

    Laurie Ann said,

    I, too, voted absentee. It’s just easier to be able to choose carefully in the comfort of my own home. And I also didn’t have enough info on the judges so I left them blank.

    Can I just say, though, that I’m disappointed we didn’t see any commercials for Dick Mountjoy. The name alone would have made for good TV. Alas, Dianne had it wrapped up even before she shameless shilled her granddaughter.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

