I have returned!

I have wung my way back from the icy reaches of Connecticut, where snowflakes dance upon the mountaintops and the sun is but a rumor.

Actually, it wasn’t very cold at all – not even cold enough to send the dog ticks into hibernation, which is why I pried three of them off my clothing and one (ick!) out of my stomach. That’s what I get, as my mother reminded me smugly, for wandering around in the woods.

I only wandered the woods for one day, though. The rest of the trip was taken up with seeing friends I hadn’t seen in ten years, and some Husband hadn’t seen in forty. We did go in to New York for lunch and a show, and down to Pennsylvania to visit a museum. And I may or may not have found time to buy yarn.

Three cats, one dog, and two children were thoroughly snuggled and adored. Two turkeys were eaten, one at my parents house and one at Husband’s sister’s. Two pies were thrown away by my mother, and a third was rescued by my stepfather.

There are many photos, which I have not yet finished web-ifying, but will post as soon as I have.

And there is a pile of work on my chair, courtesy of Lawyer. But there is also an e-mail in my inbox, which he wrote to a client and cc’d to me, explaining that their work was not quite finished because “My paralegal has been out on vacation all last week . . . I rely on her so much that there are certain things only she knows how to do.”

Heh. Time to ask for a raise.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    Whoo! Raise!

    Sam needs snuggles. Come over.

  2. 2

    mom said,

    They weren’t whole pies…

  3. 3

    Laurie Ann said,

    They have museums in Pennsylvania? (Note: I’m not including Philly or Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania, because everyone knows the real PA exists between the two–in no man’s land.

  4. 4

    uccellina said,

    They certainly have the Anthracite Museum in Scranton. I waved in the general direction of your hometown as we passed, by the way.

  5. 5

    elsewhere said,

    How can you (1) get a tick in your stomach, (2) prie a tick out of your stomach?

  6. 6

    uccellina said,

    1. Perhaps I phrased that poorly. The tick had its head buried in the skin just above my bellybutton.

    2. Very, very carefully.

  7. 7

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    re: tick – Ah, EWWWWWW!!!!!

    re: Pies – MOM!!!! Geeeeeze.

  8. 8

    Mom said,

    sorry (in teeny, tiny letters of humility).

  9. 9

    Writer2 said,

    Dumpster diving behind back of said mom yields very tasty remnant pies, esp. when they’ve been naturally refrigerated.

  10. 10

    Husband said,

    So… those lumps of coal we got at the Anthracite Museum? I hope they weren’t for Mom’s Christmas stocking. I think we ought to THANK her for throwing out pies. Otherwise we would have gained TEN pounds on our trip, instead of five.

  11. 11

    nora said,

    I so glad you came!

    Speaking of raises, *I* just got one myself, very exciting.

  12. 12

    Hyphen said,

    Welcome back darlin’. 🙂

  13. 13

    dp said,

    yay! you’re back! i missed you!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

