Please cross whatever you have.

There has been a schism in Grandma Secretary’s firm. I’m not sure what went down, precisely, but I know it involves the female partner and the female associate packing up their briefcases and clearing out their offices. The day after they announced their imminent departure, the firm had their nameplates taken off of their doors. There are hushed rumours of lawsuits. Grandma Secretary has spent the last two days muttering “Jeezle Pete,” “Oh, Lordy,” and “I’m just gonna kill myself” in angry tones.

What does this mean for your Beloved Author? Well, there ought to be a little less yelling around here (once the initial chaos dies down), and, even better, two offices are being freed up.

See this?

Save me.

This is what comes of squeezing the paralegal (who also serves as secretary and office manager) into a space this big:

doomed.

I mentioned to Lawyer that it might be a good idea to look into taking over one of the newly empty offices, and he agreed! It will only happen if we can get the price down a bit, though.

Wish on your nearest star for me, ‘kay? I could really use more room. And if it doesn’t work out, be prepared with your ropes and shovels. I might need some help clambering out of here.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    All that and Grandma Secretary is still there? Bad luck!

    But i do hope you get an office.

  2. 2

    SilliGirl said,

    Bad luck? Grandma Secretary is like, my favorite character in your blog (you know, besides you and Husband). I’m voting for you to get the office just so you can regale us with even more G.S. stories!

  3. 3

    Hyphen said,

    Hmm, if you get an office, GS wont be able to stop by and say extremely rude things to you anymore! How very bittersweet for your readers. 😉

    Am crossing my fingers for you, babe. Good luck!

  4. 4

    cheryl said,

    I’m crossing my fingers and toes for you (an odd number, so as not to negate itself.) 🙂 You deserve a new office!

  5. 5

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Sorry, MOM is my favorite character. Husband a close second. But I HOPE YOU GET AN OFFICE. My desk looks like that, but I only do the work of a secretary. Who spends way too much time on da innanets!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

