Yarn and cake, cake and yarn.

Last week, Frank came to my knitting group for the first time. He was astonished to learn that nearly everyone there had a blog. I have made you a simple venn diagram to illustrate this phenomenon.

venn

To wit: Almost all knitters are bloggers, except for maybe your cousin and six elderly women in the Aleutian islands. A large number of knitters own cats. A large number of bloggers own cats. Please note that even in this venn diagram, I was unable to prevent the cats from shedding on everything. (Maybe my proportions are a little off, and there are actually more knitters than bloggers, but I only have so much time to waste with the MS Paint, y’know?)

Anyhow, after finding this out, Frank decided to get a blog. On my recommendation, he chose WordPress. In his very first post, he wrote about learning to decorate cakes, which he had mentioned at the knitting group as well. He had also mentioned that he didn’t know anything about blog software, so in the comments on his first post, I told him “I know all about the wordpress ways. I will be your guru in exchange for cake.”

Mind you, I was just kidding. I will guru for free anytime. But Frank, we have discovered, is a literalist of the highest degree.

YarnCake1.jpg

He brought a yarn cake to the knitting group last night!

And

Cake-FirstCut.jpg

it

DecimatedCake2.jpg

was

DecimatedCake3

delicious.

DecimatedCake4

(burp)

Completely Decimated Cake

I have added a new category to this blog: Cake. Because Cake deserves its own category, as well as a capital C. It might even deserve an exclamation point, but let’s not be hasty.

*Cake photos courtesy of the illustrious Ellen Bloom. Except for the last one, which was taken by me. Ellen takes much better photos.

24 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    I love your diagram.

  2. 2

    Ellen Bloom said,

    A progressive yarn cake story. How faboo!

  3. 3

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    You are fantastic. And Frank is going to fit in nicely, I think. Especially if he keeps bringing YUMMY cake.

  4. 4

    Husband said,

    Yes, I know it’s not on my New Diet, but …

    I DIDN’T GET NO CAKE!!!!!!

    – not even a taste.

    What do I have to do? Take up knitting?

    *** light bulb goes off above head ***

    I KNOW!!! I’ll become a knitting terrorist and hold all
    your yarn HOSTAGE in exchange for CAKE!!!!

    HAH!!! All your yarn balls are belong to MEEEE!!!!

    If you expect to see them again, uh … unknotted and
    untangled ( and katz will help in this, for a bribe of milk),
    you must deliver CAKE.

    just a little piece…. okay, honey?

  5. 5

    uccellina said,

    Eeep! As you can see from the last photo, it is all gone.

    I’ll bake you a cupcake when I get home.

  6. 6

    Husband said,

    P.S.

    I will never again feel guilty when I am at work
    and they make me eat cake and watch cartoons.

  7. 7

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Husband!!! You should have come by before you left!!! You too could have had cake!! And eat it too!!!

    Christ. Is it time to go home YET?!

  8. 8

    miss kendra said,

    i didn’t get no cake.

    dumb allergies. don’t they know a pretty cake when they see one?

  9. 9

    brina said,

    Perhaps Frank should visit with y’all next time you’re back this way.

    Husband’s New Diet isn’t lemony, is it?

  10. 10

    Mom said,

    That’s the wildest-looking cake I’ve ever seen. I don’t suppose you could fax me some, next time.

    Venn diagram is great. Cats do get into everything, don’t they? And speaking of such, if so many knitters have cats, how come no one has invented a cat-proof yarn. I spend half my knitting time fending off questing paws and claws.

  11. 11

    Laurie Ann said,

    Thanks for leaving me that tiny sliver of diagram without cat hair. I appreciate it. (achoo)
    Yes, the cake was Tasty (with a capital T).

  12. 12

    brina said,

    Mom needs a yarntainer 😉

  13. 13

    Mom said,

    Thank you, Brina – these look brilliant. Though my cats are fiendishly clever and will probably work out some way to defeat them (possibly by gnawing through the plastic).

  14. 14

    Hyphen said,

    Clearly I need to start knitting. Where to begin? Do you do those consultations for free too?

  15. 15

    Uccellina said,

    Hyphen – absolutely 🙂

  16. 16

    Yarn and cake! Together!!

    I am one jealous girl.

    All the men who show up to our Snb are either (alleged) stalkers,
    gay Yalies who want to learn to knit so they can make sweaters for
    a dog they don’t even own yet, or husbands-to-be of one of the
    girls- and trust me, he doesn’t bake.

    So jealous!

  17. 17

    writer2 said,

    There’s a corresponding Venn diagram for those in the other world who do not yarn; it would depict them (us) spending all of their (our)otherwise-yarnable time vacuuming cat fur from house, food and clothing.

  18. 18

    Mom said,

    Be fair, Writer2, the dog contributes her fair share.

  19. 19

    M-H said,

    I love that cake. If Frank’s ever in Sydney Australia he’s more than welcome to visit or knitting group. 🙂

  20. 20

    ladylinoleum said,

    I’m with Annika. Your diagram rules!

    See ya tonight…yeah, yeah, I’m gettin’ in my car and driving over there.

  21. 21

    Stepherz said,

    Delicious looking cake. Although, I’ve hardly met a cake I didn’t like.

    Love the diagram too!

  22. 22

    […] clicking on the donation button in the sidebar. This method comes with some perks, too. Remember Frank, who made me a yarn cake? Well, evidently, Frank’s generosity and ingenuity do not stop at cake. So here is our idea: […]

  23. 23

    chezclutter said,

    Love your cake!! Are you on Ravelry??? if you are come and join THE COMPLETELY POINTLESS AND ARBITRARY GROUP GROUP. We love CAKE!!

  24. 24

    Noelle said,

    Hey Hey!
    I love this and would really like to make if for my friend who is a bit of a knitting fiend! Any chance I could get the recipe for it?
    pleeaaase she would be so happy she would fall over! I could even take pictures of her falling over from excitement and happiness and post them here for you!
    please can haz recipe?

    that is all,
    thank you
    noelle


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

