Wavy

Wavy Scarf Section

Back in November, when I was visiting the far, chill reaches of Connecticut, my not-actually-Aunt B. expressed an interest in my knitting; naturally, I offered to make her something. I took her to my mother’s LYS (local yarn store, for those not familiar with knitters’ argot) and let her choose a yarn. She, of course, chose the scratchiest wool she could find in the brightest color available. I chose the pattern – Wavy, from Knitty. As previously discussed here, I had to adjust for the bulkiness of my chosen yarn, so each row has 24 stitches instead of the 42 originally called for.

Wavy Scarf Closeup
I knit it in a very tight gauge on size 9 needles.

The patternmaker recommends using a row counter, to which I cockily said “Bah!” Then I put the scarf down for a few weeks (maybe months) without marking which row I was on, and when I picked it up again, I had a hellish experience trying to figure out where I was in the pattern. I was thoroughly chastened (and also drinking heavily) by the time I received a row counter in the mail from my friend S.B., which I used faithfully from then on.

It’s for an ankle-length coat. Think it’s long enough?

Wavy Scarf Full Length

(Don’t say no. I already bound off.)

17 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ellen Bloom said,

    The Wavy Scarf is gorgeous! I’ve seen it in person.
    Love your hairy face, by the way. How DO you get your eyebrows to grow sooooo long?

  2. 2

    Sachi said,

    I think it looks just fine. If you want to add length, find fringe. But I think it’s fine.

  3. 3

    uccellina said,

    Ellen – I’m Russian. We’re born that way.

    Sachi – I considered fringe, but decided against it.

  4. 5

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    HAH. Ellen. What a jokester!

    I’m so happy for you to be done with wavy. I think it could use another 6″ on either side, but hey, what the heck do I know?!

    Btw, NICE cleavage!

  5. 6

    miss kendra said,

    i think it’s lovely just the way it is.

  6. 7

    mom said,

    Hooray! Don’t fringe it. Looks wonderful. She’ll love it.

    I have started a red scarf of my own but I can’t get past the first ten rows without ripping it out due to WEIRD MISTAKES.

  7. 8

    knittingtroll said,

    The yarn is pretty – too bad it’s scratchy and it should be plenty long. Now I want to knit one…

  8. 9

    desiknitter said,

    It’s beautiful! Definitely long enough, but very sassy.

  9. 10

    desiknitter said,

    Should have said, “and very sassy.”

  10. 11

    from away said,

    Nice!

    I’ve used that yarn for hats. Steel wool might be softer.

  11. 12

    Frank said,

    It’s lovely! I was wondering why you weren’t working on it last night. I can’t wait to make my own. Although I’m going to pass on the steel wool… ;o)

  12. 13

    Hyphen said,

    Its pretty. 🙂

    So you have a month to teach me to knit you know.

    😉

  13. 14

    husband said,

    Now maybe you can finish my sweater?

  14. 15

    malla said,

    Hallo. I´m new here at wordpress and it´s a lot of thing I don´t understand yet. At the moment I´m travelling in Peru – and I want to put fotos on my blog. Maybe you can help me? How can I get the fotos smaller on the page? When I tried it only appeard as a really big one.. Thank you very much in advance. Maria

  15. 16

    blessed1 said,

    I have the same question as the person above about the photos being so perfect
    instead of perfectly large.

    also….love the scarf. You’re very talented!!

  16. 17

    uccellina said,

    Malla and Blessed – it’s a Flickr thing. I don’t know how you’re doing your photo hosting, so I can’t really answer your question. Try the WordPress forums.

    Thanks for the compliments!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

