You should learn not to make personal remarks, Alice said with some severity.

Okay, I really, really have to work on this Separate Statement In Support Of Motion To Compel Cranial Infarction In Opposing Counsel, but I’m going to take a quick break to share with you an encounter from my lunch hour. Which is really a lunch ten minutes, but hey.

It is a very windy day here in the City of Angels. I walked to the taco store and back, and was frisked and then molested by the breeze. Fortunately, I was wearing pants rather than a skirt, so no Marilyn Monroe Moment.

As I entered the lobby of my building, I saw an old, fat, balding white guy in a suit and suspenders, standing by the elevator, watching me.

“Boy,” he shook his head, “Your hair is a mess!” He walked over to the door and looked out. “Do you think it’s too windy for me to walk to the store?”

“No, you should try it,” I replied cheerfully. “After all, you don’t have to worry about your hair.”

The elevator came just then, and I got on, so I didn’t see his face. But I like to imagine it was shattered.

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SilliGirl said,

    We just read that scene in the book you gave SilliKid. She’s always asking, “can we read Alice, please?”

  2. 2

    uccellina said,

    Silligirl – you have no idea how happy that makes me 🙂

  3. 3

    Laurie Ann said,

    For some reason, the description of the man brings Charlie Weaver to mind. Then my father, who is the spitting image of Wilford Brimley.

    I love the drive-by response.

  4. 4

    desiknitter said,

    Uccellina! I’m shocked 🙂

  5. 7

    from away said,

    Hah. Well done.

  6. 8

    Hyphen said,

    Oh perfect! Don’t you love those moments where you DO think of the perfect thing at the perfect time to say it?

  7. 9

    Carolyn J. said,

    That’s thinkin’ on your feet 😉

  8. 11

    Frank said,

    Very well-timed comment. Of course, had it been me, I would have figured out what to say about 13 minutes after I departed his company.

    I love Laurie Ann’s “drive-by comment”!! rofl


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

