It’s my birthday and I’ll blog if I want to

When I was about six years old, I began to recognize the value of Experience – and I pictured it that way, with a capital E. As I sniffled back my tears from whatever latest disaster, I would think, Oh, well, at least it’s an Experience. I learned to be grateful for those miserable moments, because they shocked me out of my everyday complacency, and often gave me new insight into my life and the world around me. This childhood coping mechanism developed throughout my life until it flowered, in my adulthood, into a fairly relentless silver-lining detection skill.

For instance: Today is my birthday. I am at work. This is not optimal. But! Lawyer and Litigator are taking me out to lunch! Coworker gave me flowers! And the zoo has been saved! Silver linings abound!

My friend Peggy calls this “living a life of gratitude.” I am grateful to all of you, my friends and my readers, for sticking with me through my endless bitching, my political rants, and my mysterious blog hiatuses (hiati?). Thank you.

And happy birthday to me!

23 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ellen Bloom said,

    Yes! Happy Birthday to you! It’s not sooo bad being at work on your b-day, as long as you get that free lunch and flowers! I hope Husband is taking you somewhere wonderful for dinner (NOT the F.Mkt., please)!!!!

  2. 2

    Sara said,

    Happy Birthday! I hope you have a nice lunch and an even better dinner!

  3. 3

    Andree said,

    Happy Birthday!

  4. 4

    Gwen said,

    Happy birthday!! I’m glad you were born. 🙂

  5. 5

    mom said,

    Ah yes, I remember it well.

  6. 6

    liz said,

    Happy, happy birthday!!!

  7. 7

    sweetxsardonic said,

    YAAAAAY for you!

  8. 8

    brina said,

    Happy happy. I’m glad you’re (still) around 🙂 Strangely enough, I couldn’t find a hallmark card that said that.

    We’ll have to party when you’re back here sometime.

  9. 9

    Mahala said,

    Yaaaay Happy Birthday 🙂

  10. 10

    Red Diabla said,

    Well, happy birthday to you!

  11. 11

    desiknitter said,

    Happy Birthday, Uccellina! Come back soon, don’t work so hard.

  12. 12

    A said,

    Happy, Happy! Joy, Joy!

    Very glad to celebrate the fact that there’s you!

  13. 13

    Husband said,

    I am stuck working on Uccellina’s birthday to, but we celebrated the other
    night and will celebrate some more on Saturday. Ti do un baccio, Carissima.

  14. 14

    elsewhere said,

    best wishes — hope to see you again en route to Baltimore some time soonish.

  15. 15

    SilliGirl said,

    Happy Day to You, Uccellina, and Happy Birthing Day to your mom.

    Great talking to you last night…I miss you!

    Love love love

  16. 16

    Nora said,

    happy birthday dearie!

  17. 17

    Frank said,

    Happy Birthday Fellow Taurus!

  18. 18

    Laurie Ann said,

    I add my birthday wishes to the pile, you lovely thing. Hugs to you and I hope you’re feeling better.

  19. 19

    Sarah said,

    Happy Belated!! I hope the lunch was great.

  20. 20

    Celeste said,

    I’m away for a few days and you go and have a birthday! May 9 is my birthday, too. I knew there was a reason I liked you!

  21. 21

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Happy Happy Birdday!
    Happy Happy Birdday!

    Now that you’re all of 23, mebbe you’ll really rack up some *EXPERIENCE*.

  22. 22

    Writer2 said,

    Yeah for you, congrats and well deserved.

  23. 23

    Casey said,

    Happy belated birthday!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

