My buttocks. I burned them.

Public service announcement: Always sunblock your butt when snorkeling.

We have returned from a magical, warm, fantastic, relaxing, chicken-filled week in Hawai’i.

We saw lava flowing from a volcano, five miles away:
Lava from 5 miles away on Mt. Kilauea - Big Island

Five hours after we left, they closed this trail down due to an earthquake swarm. A few days later, magma oozed out of a new place on the volcano, while the flow pictured above began to dissipate. Pele loves me.

The next day, I went snorkeling, which adventure prompted the PSA above. I have dropped off the underwater cameras at the photo lab, and hope to have fish photos for you soon.

Two views from the terrace of our hotel on Kauai,
Kauai Hyatt - view from terrace
Kauai Hyatt - view from terrace

where I managed to get some knitting done.
Kauai Hyatt - knitting

Spent a lovely afternoon at the beach,
Larsen's Beach - shells

where I saw a net fisherman
Larsen's Beach - net fisherman Larsen's Beach - net fisherman

and a nudist.
Larsen's Beach - nudie Larsen's Beach - nudie

There were high points,
Princeville Resort view Waimea Canyon top Waimea Canyon Na'pali view
(High! Pointy!)

and low points,
Waimea Canyon Waimea Canyon Na'pali view Wailua Falls
(Low! Pointy!)

and pointy plants,
Allerton Garden - pineapple Allerton Garden - Morton Bay Fig Trees

but I loved them all.
I stare into the void Waimea Canyon Na'pali Allerton Garden - Contemplating the Morton Bay Fig Tree Wailua Falls

I even loved the ubiquitous chickens.
Chickens at Opaeka'a Falls Lookout Allerton Garden chicken Waimea Canyon chickens Wailua Falls chickens Kentucky Fried chickens

And I was very sad to leave.
Last look

Full set of photos here.

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sara said,

    Beautiful! I’m so glad you had a great time – you deserved it. Sorry you had to leave, but we would have missed you if you had stayed.

  2. 2

    Laurie Ann said,

    So pretty.
    So jealous.
    So happy you had a good time.

  3. 3

    from away said,

    Ah crap, I forgot to text you. I hope you sent a postcard anyway. 🙂

  4. 4

    Red Diabla said,

    Ooooooh, vacation!

    I’ve heard of “vacations”. One of these days I’ll have to try one out myself. Glad you had a great time, nudist and all!

  5. 5

    Frank said,

    Wow, looks gorgeous! Glad you had a chance to get away and unwind!

  6. 6

    miss kendra said,

    this is why i keep my cheeks under wraps at all (most) times.

  7. 7

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Nice arse. Both you and the nudie. But I think he has a better tan.

    Welcome home.

  8. 8

    Frank said,

    Can you email me? I’m having WordPress issues again and I can’t find your email addy… HEP ME HEP ME! 😉

  9. 9

    Annika said,

    Yay, you’re back!

  10. 10

    from away said,

    Postcard! Yay! Thanks 🙂

  11. 11

    uccellina said,

    From Away – as if I’d forget 🙂

  12. 12

    Dina said,

    Were you at the Grand Hyatt in Poipu? It’s right near where my grandparents live. So pretty there!

  13. 13

    We went to Kauai for our honeymoon – brought back happy memories just looking at your post and photos. Where did you stay? We stayed in a condo on the east side, in Kapaa. Thanks for the mini mind vacation!

  14. 14

    uccellina said,

    Dina pegged it – the Grand Hyatt in Poipu. Dina, do you think your grandparents would adopt me, maybe?

  15. 15

    liz said,

    Kaua’i is my favorite place on earth. Sigh.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

