Wonders of technology

Upon feeling yesterday’s ultrasonic waves washing over them*, one of the babies waved back slowly with a teensy-tiny little hand. The other was sucking its thumb, ignoring us completely. That, I suspect, is the smart one.

I was dazed for the rest of the day. “It waved!” I kept repeating. “It waved at us! And the other one sucked its thumb!” I know these aren’t the first babies to perform such tricks in utero, but seeing them wriggle on the black-and-white screen is a truly visceral (heh) confrontation with the fact that inside me right now are little creatures that will eventually be people. And if that isn’t a legitimate reason to feel a bit freaked out, I don’t know what is.

Watching those two little kinda-baby-shaped blobs grow week by week, reading in my Pregnancy Journal all of the changes these creatures are undergoing inside me (this week they’re growing fingernails, toenails, and hair follicles!) – it seems like I should be aware of all that activity in some definite, unmistakable way, instead of just having vague symptoms like nausea, fatigue, and a pot belly. There should be jackhammers and cranes; there should be flags up around my midsection, and tiny people in hardhats waving the traffic through.

I suspect this will all seem a lot more real when I start feeling them move. That should be . . . in about six to twelve weeks. Don’t worry; I’ll let you know when it happens.

________________________
*We’re being followed so closely because of all the gadgetry and finagling it took to get us here. Otherwise, I would not be subjecting babies to so much poking.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    🙂 Hee-hee!!! I hope you never get over the amazement. It really is a truly awesome experience! Sometimes I still look at the Wee MG and think, GAWD. I did that?!

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    MonkeyGurrl is right – it never stops being fascinating.

  3. 3

    Husband said,

    *We’re being followed so closely because of all the gadgetry and finagling it took to get us here. Otherwise, I would not be subjecting babies to so much poking.

    – Oh, I thought the kids just had their own Youtube account.

  4. 4

    Mahala said,

    Ooooooo!!! Just wait ’til they get the hiccups!!!! It’s the WEIRDEST feeling.

  5. 5

    Mom said,

    Hiccups…

  6. 6

    Nora said,

    I LOVE hiccups. I think its the coolest thing that babies in utero do. Tell me when they start doing that. It amuses me no end.

  7. 7

    Frank said,

    Awww! I wanna be pregnant!

  8. 8

    liz said,

    Hiccups was my FAVORITE! I still get all nostalgic when he gets them now.

  9. 9

    liz said,

    And I love the image of the construction zone complete with flag men.

  10. 10

    Allison said,

    Hiccups are cool and I also get nostalgic when Evan has them. I wonder if the twins will get them at the same time, or hiccup like dueling banjos?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

