Better now, mostly.

I just went back and re-read last year’s post about September 11th, and I’m struck by the contrast between my feelings then and my feelings now. The sadness is still there, but it’s not making me cry this year. The empty pit of anger and despair has been filled in with hope for the future. Isn’t that, fundamentally, what making babies is? A statement that you believe there might be a better future for your children to live in?

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Ab-so-fricking-lutely!!! I remember a million or so years ago, when graduating from college, I swore I would never have chillenz because, really, who would want to bring an innocent child into this god-forsaken world?! And I’d never get married b/c the only real reason to do that is to have chillenz.

    Thank the gods for Perspective. (And chance, circumstance, karma and the marvels of modern medical science.) I can’t help but to think that we (as mothers and mothers-to-be) are contributing to the betterment of humanity.

  2. 2

    Mahala said,

    I can’t believe it’s been so long since it happened, it still seems so fresh.

  3. 3

    Allison said,

    ditto Mahala.

    I will never ever forget that day and everything about it.

  4. 4

    To answer your question, yes. That’s what it’s all about.

  5. 5

    Nora said,

    Hugs.

    I want to come talk shamelessly at your stomach. I wonder how long of a walk it is.

  6. 6

    Nora said,

    More blogging please.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

