I am appreciated.

I’m not the most technically adept person in the world. I got a D in my 7th grade Drafting class when my toothpick-and-marshmallow bridge failed to meet federal and municipal building codes by collapsing in a sticky, pointy heap on the teacher’s desk. I was so depressed, I didn’t even eat the marshmallows afterward. So I was perhaps inordinately proud of myself when, this past Sunday, I successfully assembled our new double stroller, which involved screwdrivers, wrenches, instructions written by engineers, and bits labeled “Bar A2” and “Hole 7”.

After fitting everything together and gently applying pressure to see if the result would implode or shatter, I snapped in our hand-me-down carseats (thank you, Annika and Diane!). I called Husband in to applaud my handiwork, then parked the stroller behind the couch and went to bed.

I found this when I came downstairs the next morning.

Gawain in stroller

I’m so glad someone values my work.

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    Wow. Do those car seats say boy and girl or what? (I know you will not assign them to specific babies, but I think it is hilarious how obvious it is that they came from a baby of each sex.)

  2. 2

    Diane Dawson said,

    Awww….
    We have a long collection of cats sitting in/on baby furniture 🙂
    And yes – I love the boy/girl look too!

  3. 3

    Diane Dawson said,

    oh – also, I read “somewhere” (I think on consumer reports) that car seats should be ditched after 5 years because of plastic warping or something. Our is 2 years old. Just so you know 🙂

  4. 4

    Sachi said,

    Yay! It passed the kitty test!!!

  5. 5

    Mom said,

    Let me see, if blue is for boys, that must mean that the chic black and white, a la Coco Chanel, must be for girls.

    Mr. Paint-Drip looks like he may not relinquish his seat…

  6. 6

    Carolyn J. said,

    “I’m still the baby here!”

  7. 7

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Someone’s gonna have a tough adjustment…

  8. 8

    I love how the cat is strapped in.

  9. 9

    Husband said,

    WHAT??? I’M IN UR KARSEAT, BEIN’ UR BABIE.

  10. 10

    Jaye said,

    You mean it’s not a cat bed?

  11. 11

    Liz said,

    “Ahhhh, just the right size!!! Thank you!”


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

