A small post of thanks.

Thank you, mystery benefactor, for sending us three dozen preemie prefold cloth diapers! They arrived this evening, but there was no packing slip or indication of by whom they were gifted. If you let me know, I will send you a proper thank-you note.

It’s amazing how generous people are when they find out you’re having twins (maybe they’re like this for singletons too, but I wouldn’t know). Yesterday I stopped by a woman’s apartment to pick up two Happy Heinys that I had purchased off Craigslist, and along with the diapers she handed me a big bag of clothes that her sons had outgrown. Tonight I stopped by another home to pick up a bag of secondhand Born Free bottles, nipples, and sippy cups that a woman had e-mailed to offer me when she found out about our impending babies. We have also gotten hand-me-down car seats, a CoSleeper, clothing, playmats, a Bumbo, diapers, blankets, a swing, and other things that I can’t recall at the moment because my brain has turned to mush. We have purchased many other items secondhand. We’ve gotten so many offers from people eager to help that I have actually had to turn some down, which goes completely against my nature.

I am thrilled about this in part because, seriously, who can afford to buy all of this new? and in part because I like that we are contributing less to the corporate consumer cycle. But what pleases me most about it is that this is how the world should work and too often doesn’t. People should support others, and pass along what they no longer need to those who do. People should buy less, and recycle more. People should be kind and generous, and evidently, they are. Who knew?

I truly look forward to telling my children about how good people were to our family when they were entering the world.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SilliGirl said,

    Hey, I was totally debating whether or not to bring the BPA issue to your attention, and then I clicked on the born-free link. How great that you’re getting those bottles!

    Also, I have found people to be exceedingly generous with baby items, and also children’s clothing in general (as my kids get older). It’s really great. I don’t think I’ve paid for most of my kids’ clothes over the years.

    Our small prefolds are currently on their fifth baby, and they are still in great condition. I’m so glad you got so many diapers from your mysterious benefactor (although I still think you need more!)

    I think this comment may a tad disjointed, I am so tired. I’m going to bed.

  2. 2

    Mahala said,

    When my daughter was little, I used to take the stuff she’d outgrown to a second had baby store (clothes and strollers and crap.. not actual second had babies..) and trade for new/used stuff I needed. Baby things almost never wear out before they’re outgrown.

  3. 3

    dp said,

    even republicanism would work (in theory) if everyone were this generous on a regular basis.

  4. 4

    Mom said,

    When you think about the incredible duplication of resources because of our society’s insistence that everything be individually owned, it’s no wonder landfiills are bursting. Just think of a typical suburban subdivision, where every yard boasts its own swing set, kiddie pool, etc., when such things could so easily be shared. I wish such recycling networks had been avaialble when U was little. And hurray for anonymous diaper donors!

  5. 5

    Annika said,

    Hooray! I hate how much of Sam’s stuff is new, but sadly all my friends either have much older kids or are just now having babies (or don’t have children at all). Also my MIL keeps buying him stuff…

    I am so happy to be able to share things with you, and so thrilled that other folks are doing the same! These babies are loved by so many people already.

  6. 6

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    {{don’t hit me}} I find, that on an individual level, most people (even republicans) tend to be generous, especially when they find you are in a family way. Its just when they have to draw those broad, sweeping strokes they go off the deep end.

  7. 7

    Allison said,

    We love the Born Free sippy cups. I never used the bottles, but they look great. They are indeed very expensive new. Everyone was very kind to us when we had Evan, and again when he got surgery, so I’m eager to pass it forward (plus we need to move this stuff out of our garage!) Please, before you buy, email me to see if we have something you need. If we do, it’s yours.

  8. 8

    Bonnie said,

    I can’t believe the tummy! I had such a great time at your baby shower and was grateful to have a chance to meet your friends. I know you are far from us, but you are surrounded with good people. And I agree with Monkey Guurl – most people are good hearted, no matter who they vote for.

    Love,

    B


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

