Spot of tea, dear?

As my mother and I were pushing the twin stroller out of Puzzletown the other day, we held the gate open for a tiny white-haired woman, perhaps eighty, eighty-five years old. She peered into the stroller and asked in a prim, upper-class English accent “Twins?”

“Yes.”

“I was married to a twin,” she smiled. “He and his brother were in the Air Force. They used to pull all sorts of tricks, taking each other’s places and so on.”

“That could make for some interesting stories.” I imagined two identical Englishmen in crisp RAF uniforms, twitching their noses mischievously.

“Well, they were Catholic, not Jewish, but for some reason one of them was circumcised, so I never had a problem.”

Wren stares at Robin

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    This is the best story I have heard in days.

  2. 2

    Laurie Ann said,

    That is the best line ever. I hope I still have a bit of the naughty in me when I’m that old.

    Also, I love the faces your babies make. They crack me up.

  3. 4

    John Dias said,

    So she never had a problem telling apart her two lovers. Must be nice to be able to keep your story straight. 🙂

  4. 5

    Rhonda Smart said,

    That’s a great story.

  5. 6

    SilliGirl said,

    I need the rest of that conversation…what did you say in response???

  6. 7

    Catherine said,

    ::jawdrop::

  7. 9

    Natalie said,

    oh I love those babies.

    How did she know the only one was circumcised?

  8. 10

    julie said,

    Awesome story! Great expression on the right, and what a wonderfully plumped up belly on the left.

  9. 11

    screamish said,

    You have to love old ladies like that….

  10. 12

    Red Diabla said,

    BWAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!!

    Teh awesome!

  11. 13

    Sarah said,

    Ok that is great I am going to share that one with the gals at work.

  12. 15

    Nora said,

    I suppose if you have twin baby boys you spend as much time switching out diapers as anything else, so I guess that’s one way to tell your kids apart. But if you’re going to go to that much trouble you might as well get them tattoos.

  13. 16

    geckogrrl said,

    Great story. Wonder why one boy was intact and the other one wasn’t? Maybe easier to tell them apart when little???

  14. 17

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Oh, sure when a little old lady says it, it’s cute. But when *I* say it, particularly in the middle of a hoity-toity cocktail party, all conversation comes to an abrupt halt. Must be the presentation.

    LOVE those babies!!!

  15. 18

    Writer2 said,

    I can’t believe you didn’t ask if her man was the circumcised one!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

