Monday’s olympic event in pictures

walking

falling

fallen

Notice the gleeful smile on the baby in the last frame. If there were room for a thought bubble (or I were talented enough to make one), it would read “Again, Mama, again!”

My knees are sore, my shoulder aches, and my hand is slightly scraped, but Wren was completely unharmed and that’s what matters. My neighbor, who witnessed this spectacular tumble-and-roll, pronounced it a 10.

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    husband said,

    I think the Trip and Fall is still one of the demonstration sports,
    not a full-fledged event. But, I’m sure it will make it long before
    Ow I Hit My Knee On the Coffee Table.

  2. 2

    Annika said,

    Ahh, yes. I trained for this event in June, as you may recall. Good times!

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    Love the art work! And kudos on your agility.

  4. 4

    Natalie said,

    Synchronized tumbling.
    Congratulations on your perfect 10! With bonus baby smiles.

  5. 5

    laurie ann said,

    At least you stuck the landing.

  6. 6

    Kim said,

    Awww Man!! Laurie Ann stole my response!! I was gonna say the same thing
    about the landing. Glad to know you and little Wren are okay… for the most
    part anyway.

  7. 7

    julie said,

    Yikes! Glad nobody required immediate medical intervention. About the coffee table…there are ways to pad the edging (for corners and sides); we threw a thick tablecloth on ours….

  8. 8

    nora said,

    how do you fall UP stairs?

  9. 9

    KS said,

    LOVE the illustrations…could you please could illustrate all my less-than-spectacular moves from now on? (Not that yours was less than spectacular…it clearly took skillz!)

  10. 10

    geckogrrl said,

    Love the pictures!

    We’ve done that sport too except it was a back-ended slide. Was so freaked out, had Doug come home from work to comfort me. Kiddo was happy as a clam, I was the one who felt terrible.

  11. 11

    husband said,

    Oh, I totally forgot about the time that Wren did the backwards
    flip off the sofa. I guess that doesn’t qualify as an Olympic event
    either, since there was no pool involved, only a hard wood floor.

  12. 12

    uccellina said,

    Thanks for reminding me, Husband. She wasn’t so gleeful after that one. Ugh.

  13. 13

    Mom said,

    Yes, but clearly she’s in training for a career at Cirque du Soleil. How to terrify your parents.

  14. 14

    dp said,

    i haven’t been to your blog in a while, and this made me laugh out loud (the artwork, not the idea of you falling), so thank you for that. i’m glad you were ok. and if it’s any consolation, you are not alone: i told my mom about you, and she said the very same thing happened to her with my older sister (mom trips, takes massive tumble while carrying baby, fall is scarier and more painful bc of trying to protect baby, mom sits up in pain, unharmed baby is beside herself with delight).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

