Help me, internets!

Y’all were so helpful with my last problem that I’m turning to you again for this one.

I have a horrible sore throat and my head feels like glue. People at work say it’s going around. I don’t want it to go around! What do I do to keep my two cheerful, nursing, co-sleeping babies from getting this?

[Non-begging blogging will resume shortly, after I am rid of the creeping crud.]

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    That’s an easy one! Just keep nursing them exclusively. (An illness incubation period is not the time to try solids – breastfeeding exclusively keeps them stocked up no your immunities. Supplement as little as you possibly can while you’re sick.) They might get sick, but if Sam is any indication it will be a much lighter version of what you have.

  2. 2

    Annika said,

    p.s. It is very inconsiderate of you to get sick just when I am going out of town. How am I going to take care of you?

  3. 3

    Allison said,

    I have the same thing right now. It sucks! Here’s a suggestion. Warning: it ain’t pretty, but it helps. I suggest wearing a mask and washing your hands with hot water and soap obsessively. Not touching your face as much as possible. This is what I did when I was horribly sick when Evan had his surgery. Good luck!

  4. 4

    Celeste said,

    Wash your hands as much as you can, and go nuts with drinking hot liquids. It seems to help gunk move out of the head better, it helps with sore throat pain due to drainage, and possibly it washes bacteria down to the stomach where acids can dispatch them rather than let them go airborne.

    I’ve always heard that chicken soup with lots of garlic and pepper helps unclog chests, but I think it’s the hot liquid that does the most work.

    I hope you feel better. I’m coming down with what I think is sinus trouble. I feel my own pain but am completely sympathetic to yours. Pass the chai!

  5. 5

    Annette said,

    Keep nursing and take care of yourself! I had a terrible bout of the flu when my youngest was 6 months and she never got sick. I on the other hand ran fever and was sicker than I ever remember being! In fact her sister and dad were quite sick as well and she had no problem. I think the immunities from nursing make a difference.

  6. 6

    esperanza said,

    I’ll second the obsessive hand-washing (any NICU parent knows how to do that!). And contribute my own stomach nastiness * 2 since little A has been home. She’s never gotten that, nor anything else from me. So I guess keep nursing. Oh, and plenty of sleep (right). And lots of liquids (you’re nursing twins, I’m assuming you’re doing that anyway). So I’m actually not helpful in the least. Hope you feel better soon.

  7. 7

    KS said,

    Nursing babies often don’t get sick even when mamas do, so the best thing to do is keep nursing and get yourself better as quick as possible. Hubby’s foolproof remedy is garlic/ginger/honey/lemon tea. It’s actually quite tasty with an adequate amount of honey, and if you’re brave you can add some cayenne to help with the throat (you can also gargle warm salt/cayenne water but it’s not for the faint of heart). I am also a fan of the neti pot when dealing with congestion.

    Good luck, babe! I was sick as a dog on Saturday and managed to nurse myself back to help in time for a performance on Sunday.

  8. 8

    kathy a. said,

    all great advice! but find out if it is bacterial; you may need extra measures if you got strep or something. xoxo

  9. 9

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    I’m not a dr., I just wanted to share this with you – http://palinbingo.com. I printed up all 4 cards.

    (sorry for the late notice, I just got it myself!)

  10. 10

    bronnie said,

    HOT AND SOUR THAI CHICKEN SOUP>
    Kicks ass on colds and flu alike.
    My cold ( last week) only lasted 2 days.

  11. 11

    Valorie said,

    I think I read that when you’re sick, you pass on some of your antibodies to the baby (babies) in the breastmilk, which is why even if you and the your entire family are miserably ill, your baby never gets sick.

    And the handwashing, too. Just in case. Good luck!

  12. 12

    Pam said,

    Hope the emergen-c helped at least a little bit! It was awesome to see you and I hope everyone gets some good sleep tonight.

  13. 13

    uccellina said,

    MonkeyGurrl – I had already seen that and we did play last night. And I won. Heh.

  14. 14

    Nan said,

    It’s been about a week since you posted and I hope you are all feeling well. (Annika’s mom)

  15. 15

    Nora said,

    make me special. i wanna be on your blogroll.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

