ALERT! Verify your voter registration status!

Because my voter registration was never updated to reflect my married name, despite two attempts on my part, I updated it again a few months ago. It occurred to me today – yes, on the voter registration deadline for California – that I should probably check to make sure it had gone through. So I went to https://lavote.net/SECURED/VOTER_REG/, entered my info, and waited. And sure enough, it had been updated. Unfortunately, some idiot schmuck McCain/Palin peon underpaid, overworked employee at the County Recorder managed to enter my address incorrectly, and now I’m supposed to show up to vote in a totally new and different location, where my registration could quite possibly be challenged because it doesn’t match my ID. And I would not have known this if I hadn’t checked. So please, please check your voter registration. This is the link for LA County online verification, and if you live somewhere else the League of Women Voters will tell you where to call or go online.

In case you hadn’t heard, the McCain campaign is stepping up efforts to intimidate voters and challenge voter registrations, under the guise of countering the miniscule and irrelevant ACORN registration fraud. Please minimize your chances of losing out to voter suppression.

Now I’m going to go spend the next few hours listening to the County Recorder’s hold music on its two-minute loop, trying to sort this out.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mom said,

    Thank goodness you checked – and how disturbing that they can’t seem to get it right.

  2. 2

    kathy a. said,

    for californians — if the precinct worker cannot verify your eligibility to vote — for example, your name doesn’t show up on the voter list — they are supposed to give you a provisional ballot. BUT, you need to show proof of your current residence. http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/elections_15day.htm

    i do not know how this works in practice. at least theoretically, the provisional ballot lets you vote, and it will be counted once your registration is verified.

    according to my voter information packet, the last day to request absentee ballots [at least in my county] is 10/28.

  3. 3

    uccellina said,

    Huh. Just out of curiosity, I re-ran the search with my maiden name, and I’m registered that way too! So I’m registered twice: once with the wrong name, and once with the wrong address.

  4. 4

    Annika said,

    I have given up on getting registered in my married name. But I am verified under my maiden name so at least I can vote.

  5. 5

    Natalie said,

    Thanks for the links. I am verified and ready to vote. I hope you get this snafu sorted out.

  6. 7

    Allison said,

    Correction…not the same exact thing, but I was registered in CA, not PA. You know what I mean.

  7. 8

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Thank you so much for the links!!! I happened to be on the site a few weeks ago, wanting to verify they’d received my updated info, and I COULDN’T FIND THE VERIF. PLACE!!!! I feel much betterer now.

    Also, cute cops at polling place ? ABOLUTELY. (L.A.P.D. OPERATIONS WEST)

    Thank you thank you thank you.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

