Thoughts on fire.

The air tastes like ash. My throat hurts each morning. A haze of yellowish-brown hangs over the hills; I watch from my office window as it glowers at the city. From my window, I can see a great tower of smoke curling into the sky. According to the internet, that tower is 22.5 miles away.

Robin says “oom!” at the fires, at the smoke. Robin says “oom!” at everything. “Oom!” A kitty! “Oom!” A bottle! “Oom!” My daddy! What a marvelous word, that can contain so much.

This morning our co-counsel sent me yet another e-mail blaming me for something that is completely not my fault. That is, in fact, the fault of a third party unassociated with either of our offices. I sent him back a long e-mail recapping the events that have led us to this point and ending with “I just don’t see why you need to keep placing the blame on me, thus forcing me to write long e-mails defending myself.” In retrospect, I should have just written back, “Oom!” and let it go.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Laurie Ann said,

    Perhaps Robin is being meditative and means “ohm.” That would certainly be helpful in the face of co-counsel hell.

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    An oom with a view ( so sorry, couldn’t resist).

  3. 3

    Annika said,

    Maybe you could just send a second email that says “Oom.”

  4. 4

    Natalie said,

    Oom!

    Just had to try it out.

    Oom!

    I hear the appeal.

    Oom!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

