I think I’ve got a plan.

Me: Ow! No bite, Wren! Ow! Quit it!
Wren: [grin, with teeth still clamped down on my nipple.]
Husband: What are you going to do about this biting thing?
Me: FedEx her to Japan.
Husband: No!
Me: What? I’ll put airholes in the box!

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    julie said,

    That’s one option…but a less expensive one (that worked for me) was to gently pry the little piranha jaws off the breast (insert finger at corner of mouth towards back of jaw). After breaking the latch, say, “No biting,” then after a pause of a few seconds to fix my bra/shirt, “We’ll try again in a minute.” Up to you how many chances you give, but you have to be consistent with popping the biter off every single time. Offering an acceptable chew toy sometimes works, but only if you give really interesting facia/vocal reactions to go with it.

  2. 2

    Sarah said,

    I hear they ship chickens that way. Might work.

    You might try setting her on the ground and walking into another room for 5 seconds or so and then come back too 😉

  3. 3

    uccellina said,

    Well, what I actually do is smoosh her face into my boob to make her let go while saying “NO BITE.” I give her one more chance, and if she bites again I either put her down on the ground or hand her off to her daddy. If she cries, I give it about a minute and then let her try again, but usually the biting means she’s not that interested in nursing right then.

    But seriously, this hurts. That I have not yet sent her to Japan is an example of my fantastic restraint and excellent parenting skills.

  4. 4

    akeeyu said,

    Make sure you pad the box with that curly wood shaving stuff, and rig up one of those giant hamster bottles on the side.

  5. 5

    Nora said,

    What do you expect her to do with herself in Japan?

  6. 6

    husband said,

    Nora – Eat sushi and learn to speak Japanese.

  7. 7

    uccellina said,

    Husband – Oh, okay, NOW you’re all for it! Hmf.

  8. 8

    Sarah said,

    I’ll bet if you overnight the package then you won’t have to worry about the air holes quite as much =)

    Cute blog!

  9. 9

    nod said,

    Ugh, I’ve been doing the smooshing thing too and it doesn’t really work well yet. And my kid doesn’t even have teeth yet!

  10. 10

    Nora said,

    Well she’s young enough she won’t be held back by knowing English already…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

