Knitting update.

Me: What is your wife’s favorite color?

Lawyer: I don’t know, why?

Me: I’m trying to get started on my holiday knitting. Find out for me.

Lawyer picks up the phone, calls his wife, asks her what her favorite color is. “Because she’s trying to start her holiday knitting,” he says impatiently, as if it were obvious. “Okay, bye.”

Lawyer: Off-white.

Me: Off-white? Like cream? Or beige?

Lawyer: Off-white.

Me: But that’s not a color. How about light blue? I have some gorgeous pale blue mohair.

Lawyer: No, she seemed pretty definite about the off-white.

branching out scarf

branching out detail

The 1/3-finished, chunky version of Branching Out. It’s going surprisingly quickly.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    miss kendra said,

    it’s looking so great. i’m excited to see it all blocked and finished and lovely.

  2. 2

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Just renember (WeeMG doesn’t say that any more. Boo): smaller sized circs can double for blocking wires! 🙂 Me so intelligent.

    Excellent choice of yarn, btw. Did you already know that was her favorite color, or was that a lucky guess? And how in the heck can “off-white” be a favorite color!? That’s like saying your favorite color is “clear”.

    Sigh.

    Mebbe that’s why I’ll never be a lawyer’s wife.

  3. 3

    Pretty, pretty. I’m glad I’m not the only one slaving for the holidays.

  4. 4

    Carolyn J. said,

    Ugh, I hate off-white, I much prefer ecru or cream. Eggshell is also nice 😉

  5. 5

    desiknitter said,

    it looks good in chunky yarn (i know i sound surprised). are you going to stretch it out and block it?

  6. 6

    uccellina said,

    Desiknitter: I was kind of surprised by it too. I am definitely going to be stretching and blocking for all I’m worth. ($2.78, at last valuation)

  7. 7

    Mom said,

    For all you knitters, I’m just back from a conference on the Scottish fisherwomen, who -among many other things – knitted all their families’ clothes, esp. the famous fishermen’s sweaters with complex patterns. So on display at the conference were “knitting sheaths,” beautifully carved wooden needle holders that look a lot like scabbards for daggers. Men would carve these for their wives and sweethearts. Or women would carry their needles in “wiskas,” special leather belts made for the purpose. They would walk and knit (with 5 needles) at the same time.

    Scarf is beautiful.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment