Almost done gloating. Almost.

We got Virginia!

Okay, there. Now I’m done.

Ahem.

While I tend to my throat, hoarse from cheering, I give you this terrifying video, via Pandagon.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Yeah, purty frickin scary video. The worst part is, I agree with some of their theories. But that’s how they suck you in, isn’t it? They *sound* reasonable. . .

  2. 2

    uccellina said,

    Keeping your virginity for as long as you please is perfectly reasonable. Things that are not reasonable:

    1) the idea that a girl’s body is the property of her father until it is “given” to her husband.

    2) the valuation of girls’ virginity, but not boys’; this thinking leads to making girls solely responsible for rape and birth control too.

    3) the weird ballet sequence.

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    Electra-fying.

  4. 4

    uccellina said,

    Ouch. I’m stealing that.

  5. 5

    Hyphen said,

    You’re right, it is terrifying.

    Too bad I’m so bored at work or I’d have been able to stop watching after the first 30 seconds. 😛

  6. 6

    nora said,

    Oh my.

    What I find most unreasonable is the image of a girl sitting on Daddy’s lap getting told that she doesn’t need the attention of or interest in boys when she has her father’s affection.

  7. 7

    Diane West said,

    Okay. Creepy. I’m going to have trouble sleeping tonight.

    ‘specially the weird ballet sequence….

  8. 8

    This has to be one of the most disturbing things I’ve seen in a long time.

    I want better than that for any girl in my family — I want her to know that she belongs to herself, and only herself.

  9. 9

    miss kendra said,

    is it possible that some of the knee jerk reaction that this is creepy and terrifying caused by its presentation (ie: encased in religion and interpretive dance)?

  10. 10

    uccellina said,

    Kendra – absolutely! But I can’t picture a nonreligious context for this same narrative, can you?

  11. 11

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    I can. I’ve seen creepy secular touchy-feely guys – usually someone associated with psychotherapy. And they don’t necessarily do interpretive ballet.

    But, honestly. Not so much the virginity aspect, but the part about getting affection and attention from their fathers – on a subjective level, I know if I’d had any attention from mine, I wouldn’t have “knowed” half the guys I knowed (in a biblical sense).

  12. 12

    uccellina said,

    Monkey, I totally agree that having involved, loving fathers parents is very valuable, and definitely affects the behavior (sexual and otherwise) of daughters. I see a big gap between that and what this video is promoting.

  13. 13

    desiknitter said,

    There goes my saturday. Between this and my Law & Order addiction, it’s any wonder I’m no longer normal.

    Oh, and congratulations on the elections! I don’t vote here, but am delighted with the results.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

