My children are already trying to scare me to death.

After my post yesterday, I went home from work to discover that I felt a little bit wet in the nether regions. Thinking this was normal pregnancy discharge, I checked, and found that no, in fact, this was about 8 liters of blood soaking my underwear. Or so it seemed, as time slowed and I stopped breathing. In reality, it was only maybe a few tablespoons, and it was brown, which was a good thing – brown blood is old blood, and usually doesn’t indicate miscarriage.

I paged the doctor on call for my clinic, and he told me that while he wasn’t worried about what I was describing, I should put my feet up for the rest of the evening and get in to the office first thing in the morning. “Because you’ll want to hear the heartbeats,” he said. And he was right. I did. More than anything.

We went in at 9am today, where we were reassured that “90% of women who go through IVF have bleeding in their first trimester.” Which was indeed reassuring, but it really would have been nice to know that a little earlier. I dunno, maybe before the Red Tide of Terror?

The ultrasound revealed two healthy embryos with steady heartbeats, measuring 9 weeks and 2 days and 9 weeks and 3 days. I am 9 weeks and 1 day pregnant, so the babies are clearly eating their Wheaties.

As always, the doctor printed out ultrasound photos for me. And when I looked? I swear I could see those kids laughing at me.

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mom said,

    Sad to say, this will not be the last time that a) your kids scare you to death and b) laugh at you. But so happy they’re growing well!

  2. 2

    Frank said,

    WOW! Even my heart stopped… egads…

  3. 3

    Laurie Ann said,

    I get all warm inside when I hear (or see) you say “my children.” I’m glad those merry pranksters were just kidding.

  4. 4

    Annika said,

    Horrible little beasts.

  5. 5

    Andree said,

    Oy…don’t scare me like that!

  6. 6

    Husband said,

    We don’t have any Wheaties in the house. Those kids must be ordering take-out.

  7. 7

    Nora said,

    Silly. It’s the pickles and eggs.

    I think it’s pretty sucky that you had to go through all this, for all the obvious reasons, but also because one of the things I think is most awesome about pregnancy (aside from the whole bringing life into the world thing,) is the prospect of getting out of having a period once a month. I fantasize about the money I could save on Spray’n’Wash…

  8. 8

    Sara said,

    I had implantation bleeding with Vivian at 6 weeks and it scared the hell out of me, so I can sympathize with your scare. I’m very glad that your little guys are doing well, though!

  9. 9

    Husband said,

    Update: Uccellina is resting in bed tonight, and will be
    staying home from work tomorrow, on doctor’s orders.
    Just to make sure.

  10. 10

    Nora said,

    Maybe they feel bad for scaring you and got you out of work to make it up. Feel better honey.

  11. 11

    Celeste said,

    It begins. :o))))))))

    Bleeding is very common and unless it means something, means nothing. The main thing the doctors say is that it will either get better or it will get worse. Of course the most maddening thing is when it does neither, and just continues for a long time and scares you…which can happen. Here’s hoping things settle down so you can get back to being the happy pregnant lady.

    I think you should indulge yourself in some online shopping for fabulous maternity clothing. Try Japanese Weekend or look at One Hot Mama. With twins, you’ll need stuff sooner rather than later.

  12. 12

    from away said,

    Jeez.

  13. 13

    esperanza said,

    Yep, mine did that too. Only with IUI, not IVF. Hoping with all I am that it turns out to be nothing. Rest well.

  14. 14

    Nora said,

    Once again I’ve come to the conclusion that adoption sounds a whole lot easier. If only for the avoiding silly doctors part. But then I look around my apartment and think I’d never survive the home study process. Sigh. Someday I’ll figure it out.

  15. 15

    Catherine said,

    Phew! I am glad you and yours are okay. You would think the doctor would have given you a heads-up on the bleeding, you know? I’m just sayin’.

  16. 16

    Peggydoula said,

    Egads! Glad to hear that everyone is doing well and normal. Big hugs to you guys!

  17. 17

    Diane West said,

    Oh ucellina! I too experienced the Red Tide of Terror. Nothing could be more horrifying. so glad to hear those sweet little heartbeats are right where they should be!

  18. 18

    liz said,

    Holy guacamole. I’m so glad that the little nestlings are safe and sound.

  19. 19

    pamela wynne said,

    eek! glad all is well. take care!

  20. 20

    Dina said,

    I know I’m a little late on the congratulations bandwagon, but I’ve been out of town, so…CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! I’m so happy for you guys. I know you guys will be great parents.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

