When my anxieties conspire against me.

I did not want to get up this morning. Twice my alarm rang, and twice I turned it off and went back to sleep. After the second time, I dreamed that I went to the bank to withdraw thirty dollars, and was told that my account balance was only twenty-five dollars. “How could that be?” I was horrified. “I had a hundred dollars in there yesterday!”

The teller turned the screen so that I could see recent transactions on my account. There were three debits of twenty-five dollars each, all from early that morning. Then I realized that every time I hit snooze on my alarm, it cost me twenty-five dollars.

I woke up.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SilliGirl said,

    That made me laugh–I used to have dreams like that all the time before I stopped using an alarm clock. I’m so sorry you’re so stressed, and I will be sending you extra love and good vibes.

  2. 2

    Annika said,

    Come over. We stocked the bar. Sam snuggles make anxieties go kablooie.

  3. 3

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    That is funny as heck. Sure beats my dream of the wee monkey being an animagus – changing into a killer whale.

    The holly daze will soon be over and we can get back to our normal non-neurotic selves.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH.

  4. 4

    Laurie Ann said,

    Could you imagine if that were true? I wouldn’t be able to afford to snooze.

  5. 5

    Husband said,

    I know, I know…
    Some days it just doesn’t pay to get out of bed.

  6. 6

    Mom said,

    My mama said there would be days like this,
    When everything I aim for I just miss,
    Oh I think I’m gonna stay right here in bed,
    That’s exactly what my sweet mama said.

    (verse from song I learned from Hartford folksinger back in 1964)

  7. 7

    Carolyn J. said,

    It would’ve been much cheaper to just turn off your alarm & go back to sleep!

  8. 8

    Nuh-uh. Every time you hit the snooze alarm an angel gets its wings (c.f. Frank Napra’s It’s a Slumberful Life.)

  9. 9

    Writer2 said,

    Sounds like a crossed story from Benjamin Franklin & Augustin Burroughs


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment