Argh, a meme . . .

But I can’t say no to Sachi.

The rules:
1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2. People who are tagged write a blog post about their own 8 random things and post these rules.
3. At the end of your blog you need to tag 8 people and post their names (I punk out here!).
4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’re tagged, and to read your blog (See 3 above).

The facts:

1. I can wiggle my ears. Both at once, but also one at a time. My ninth grade biology teacher told us this was a vestigial trait, and one of the girls in my class called me a throwback.

2. Remember that kid who got picked on in school? The one who got beat up, and shoved into lockers, and pantsed, and called names (like “throwback”) all the time? Yeah, that was me. Sometimes I get nostalgic for my childhood, but then I remember how much I hated my childhood when I was in it. I think really I’m just nostalgic for all the free time, and the lack of financial anxiety.

3. For about two years, I smoked a pack and half of cigarettes a day, but never became addicted. I smoked because I enjoyed it. When I decided it was time to stop, I just stopped. I occasionally crave a cigarette in times of stress, but I never had the agony with quitting that other people experience.

4. I’ve been writing since I was about four years old, when someone granted me access to a typewriter. One of my first stories was about a deer and a fox who played together in the forest. Upon finding that both of their mothers had been shot by hunters, the deer looked at the fox and said, “now we will have to go out into the world and earn a living!” Thus I prepared myself for years of wage slavery.

5. Another of my first stories was about a girl named Cindy who found a dragon and brought it home. When she walked in the door, her mother yelled and her father fainted. My fight against sexist representation in the media began early.

6. I make terrible, awful puns all the time. I can’t help it. They just spill out of me, like soapy water from a hyperactive washing machine. I blame my parents and their punning games at the dinner table .

7. My father expressed disappointment in me when I reached the age of eighteen without ever having been arrested for civil disobedience. I assured him it wasn’t for lack of trying. Despite the numerous protests/civil disobedience actions in which I’ve taken part in subsequent years, I’ve still never been arrested. He’s still disappointed.

8. My mother, stepfather, and father all have Ph.D.s. Until I was about fifteen, I didn’t realize that this was optional, or that there was any possibility I might not get mine. Now I have an M.F.A., but I still feel educationally inadequate.

I won’t tag anyone, because Sachi tagged most of the people I would have chosen. But if you answer this meme on your blog, let me know! I would love to read your responses.

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SilliGirl said,

    Re: #6–I still remember sitting at your dinner table trying to think up puns, and your step-father telling me to “stop ‘russian'” (stop rushing). I believe that was during the country-and-state themed pun game.

    Re: #8–Stop lying, you totally thought that until you were like, twenty-five! 😉

  2. 2

    Sachi said,

    Geez. You’d think you would find a way to get arrested by now.

  3. 3

    uccellina said,

    Silligirl – re: #8, if we’re being totally honest here, I still think that.

  4. 4

    dancinpistachio said,

    i remember ear wiggling/tongue curling day in ninth grade bio, and though i can curl my tongue in all kinds of funky ways, my ears do nothing, no matter how i try. i always thought it was cool you could move yours… but, um, throwback? wtf? what an odd thing for a ninth grader to say! it makes me mad to remember how mean people were to you. i’m glad you turned out so wonderful in spite of that 🙂

  5. 5

    Mom said,

    And I’m the one who gets the reference to the hyperactives soapy washing machine. I didn’t mean to turn our weekend into a scene from I Love Lucy…

  6. 6

    nora said,

    How do they know its a vestigial trait?

  7. 7

    nora said,

    Even when we were little I always used to say that you would be a much happier grown up than kid.

  8. 8

    nora said,

    Incidentally, I’m pretty sure being arrested is overrated.

  9. 9

    Writer2 said,

    In re: No. 6. The other night some dinner guests were commenting on the nasty things they overheard some female high school girls saying about other students as they sat in the Starbucks of a well-known, wealthy town in southwest Connecticut. At which point your mom and I blurted out simultaneously, “Greenwich mean time.”

  10. 10

    Nora said,

    That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard all day!

  11. 11

    Maureen said,

    I saw your meme on your blog and couldn’t resist trying. It was hard at first but fun once I got started. See my meme answers here:

    http://maureen-selfdiscoveryjourney.blogspot.com/2007/06/meme.html


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment