Baby shower! Babies are all clean now.

My baby shower on Saturday was lovely. I am so lucky to have wonderful, creative friends like Peggy and Annika, who threw me a Mad Hatter’s Tea Party, complete with wee crustless sandwiches, tea, artisanal cookies, and a hat-decorating competition. I may have cried a little, but I’m pretty sure no one can prove it.

Mad Hatter's Food Table (baby shower)

hat table (baby shower)

Oh – and also the world’s most amazing diaper cake! Check this thing out.

Diaper Cake & Dormouse (baby shower

This diaper cake is now sitting, intact, on top of the changing table, because I cannot bear to take it apart. Honestly, how am I supposed to disassemble that cuteness? How?

And speaking of cuteness, here is Annika’s son Sam playing “ring around the preggo.” He circled me about 10 times before discovering something more interesting across the room. Perhaps his parents shouldn’t have let him watch so much Shark Week.

sam playing "ring around the preggo"

The babies later sent a message via morse code to indicate that they were well pleased with the food, gifts, and attention.

21 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mahala said,

    How cool 🙂 Are we going to see pictures of the babies when they make their debut?

  2. 2

    Annika said,

    I assure you that if you simply untie the ribbons the entire cake will fall apart. (Oh? You didn’t mean “how” quite so literally?)

  3. 3

    Andree said,

    Looks like fun was had by all!

    If your babies are as fun as Young Sam, then I will babysit for free!

  4. 4

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    How friggin cute are you? And Sam?!!! I’m looking forward to the Sacs making their debut – in *DUE* time, of course!

  5. 7

    SilliGirl said,

    Wow, how fancy. I wish I could have been there. Also, I wish I could have a Mad Hatter party, baby or no. Will Annika come make me wee crustless sandwiches and a diaper cake, do you think???

    I am just so happy for you.

  6. 8

    from away said,

    You’re having a party back over here, too, aren’t you? Should I plan to mail gifts? Or just drop ’em on your fam’s doorstep? 😉

    Is that a phone in the last pic? Or a kid remote?

  7. 9

    Annika said,

    OMG, Remote Control Sammy. It will be bigger than Tickle Me Elmo!

    Silligirl, I will totally throw you a party but I only cut the crusts off for twins.

  8. 10

    dp said,

    awesome! wish i could have been there.

  9. 11

    Mom said,

    You failed to mention the wonderful, wacky hat contest which I (ahem, hrmph) won. My first contest win ever!

  10. 12

    uccellina said,

    Mom – Did too mention it. See the part in the beginning of the post where I said “complete with wee crustless sandwiches, tea, artisanal cookies, and a hat-decorating competition”? I am sorry I didn’t say that you won it, but at least now everyone knows 🙂

  11. 13

    from away said,

    hey now… are there pics of the winning hat?

  12. 14

    Mom said,

    It was – glittery. And replete with pipe cleaners.

  13. 15

    Catherine said,

    What fun! I’m so happy for you. Really. 😀

  14. 16

    Benjamin said,

    “bum genius” is the singular most brilliant brand name i have ever heard.

    it is so pleasing to watch your progression from across the country! i think of you often and with great affection.

    xo

  15. 17

    Dana said,

    Looks like a lovely party!
    I think that a diaper cake is the best gift for any baby shower.
    I used to buy the diaper cakes, but they cost soooooo much so i’ve decided to do it myself.
    You’ll be amazed how easy it is, simply google “how to make a diaper cake” and you can do your next diaper cake by yourself, get great results and save a lot of money.

  16. 18

    Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this web page, and paragraph is genuinely fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting such content.

  17. 19

    Hi, Neat post. There is a problem together with your web site
    in internet explorer, may test this? IE still is the
    marketplace chief and a good element of other people will miss your excellent writing due to this problem.

  18. 20

    My family all the time say that I am wasting my time
    here at net, except I know I am getting know-how all the time by reading such pleasant
    articles or reviews.

  19. 21

    missionary position

    Baby shower! Babies are all clean now. | A Bird\’s Nest


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment