My nipples are doomed. Doomed, I say.

On Sunday, I poked my finger into Wren’s mouth to retrieve a piece of shredded paper or cat fur or some other equally tasty item, and was shocked to discover a serrated little lump poking through her bottom gum. I looked at her.

“A tooth? You’re getting a tooth, and you didn’t think to mention it?”

“Aaaaaaaaaaaagmbliblilbibababgmm.”

“And babbling? You decided to babble today too?”

“Gmmmmmmmmaaaabbleg.” She grinned at me and stuck a finger in her mouth.

“Yes, a tooth, I saw.” I turned to Robin, who was frowning. “What about you, Mister Two-Teeth? Your sister’s catching up to you.”

I put my hand to his mouth and he bit down. And I felt a brand new top tooth worrying my index finger.

Nursing is about to really get fun.

Edited to add: Husband says that both of Robin’s top teeth are coming in! Oh joy.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mom said,

    Well, now, at least, she’ll be able to chew the cat fur properly.

  2. 2

    Anita said,

    Actually, I didn’t have that much problem with the teeth. A couple of times my son chomped on them and I just stopped nursing him. I swear only twice we had an issue.

    Good luck!

  3. 3

    ifindmyselfamother said,

    ooooo… i am dreading the day these teeth show themselves.

  4. 4

    lichen said,

    Yet another thing I have not anticipated. Crap.

  5. 5

    uccellina said,

    Lichen and Ifindmyselfamother – don’t take my experience as a predictor of your own, truly. Robin has never had a good latch, due to his NICU time. Even so, he only abrades me when he nurses, he rarely bites and he has never broken the skin. It can’t be too bad, since I can still usually sleep through his nursing. I’m just a little sore. It’s totally worth it 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment