My very crafty Saturday.

fabulous fiber festival

On Saturday, Miss Kendra, Lady Linoleum, Lena Linoleum and I attended the Fiber Festival in Santa Monica. This is a very dangerous place, filled with yarn, beads, roving, spinning wheels, drop spindles, quilts, and other shriek-worthy items. Money was spent. I won’t say how much or by whom, but I do believe several wallets were whining in pain by the time we left.

We regrouped at Casa Linoleum, where Miss Kendra, Lena L. and I discovered the evil delight of needle felting. Why hadn’t anyone ever told me that stabbing could be a legitimate hobby? I really wouldn’t have wasted all that time with knitting. It’s just not pointy enough.

That day, I stabbed a superhero alien.

b'way roy g. biv

His name is Roy G. Biv, and, according to Miss Kendra, he is a Broadway Star. Jazz hands!

miss kendra with roy g. biv

Lena Linoleum made two sheep. Or maybe three. I’m not sure how to count the two-headed sheep .

sheep

She is nothing if not meticulous.

anatomically correct

We all got trashed on water and thai food, and discussed inappropriate subjects while stabbing furiously. Surprisingly little blood was shed, and pointy fun was had by all.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sachi said,

    I’m sad because I missed you on Saturday. I was there. 😦 I walked around and looked for people (you guys in particular) as soon as I got there but, alas, you must have left already.

  2. 2

    miss kendra said,

    my butt looks very wide.

    and my face looks weird.

    but roy g biv is delightfully handsome and never before have i seen such perfect jazz hands.

    lena made buttholes! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    I love the 2-headed sheep.

  4. 4

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    I am offended, nay, HURT that I wasn’t invited to go along to this little shin dig. Was it because of the crack I made about the FiberFest web page being chock full of grannies from the midwest?! Was it because of my inability to wake before noon on Saturdays without considerable moaning and groaning (and not of the good kind)?!

    The missed opportunity to spend copious amounts of coinage doesn’t bother me so much (I do pretty well on my own), but that needle felting looks like FUN!!! You’ll have to teach me or I’ll never forgive you!!!

  5. 5

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Hee-hee. Lena is *SO* her mother’s daughter, isn’t she?!!!

  6. 6

    uccellina said,

    A quick and easy guide to needle felting:

    Step 1: take some roving.

    Step 2: Stab.

    Step 3: Profit!!!!

  7. 7

    Mom said,

    ah. I see that fibre artists have a lingo almost as challenging as anthropologese.

  8. 8

    A said,

    Somehow when I first glanced at the festival name I wound up expecting an article on prunes or fruit compote. Time to go yank some weeds and refocus.

  9. 9

    ladylinoleum said,

    I loved hanging out with you guys! It was so much fun!!!

    I’m still laughing about alien jazz hands…Kendra is cracked IN A GOOD WAY.

    Monkeygurrl – Though not completely opposed to buttholes in general, I try to avoid adhering them to my knitted and crocheted items. Lena not that editorial though. LOL

    Love you all!

  10. 10

    Ellen B. said,

    Lena Linoleum is really an internets star. She’s been appearing on everyone’s blog lately. Looks like you had a great time at Fiber Fest. Great photo of the exterior of the SM Civic Auditorium….LOVE that building!

  11. 11

    Laurie Ann said,

    I almost bought a needle felting kit this weekend. Had I known I could make such cool things with it, I wouldn’t have hesitated. I want to adopt Kendra and Lena.

  12. 12

    nora said,

    Wow. My weekend sounds quite dull by comparison.

  13. 13

    Husband said,

    Now I know what we can do with all of the dust bunnies lying around the house.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

