Vacation photos 1: Nature

Autumn has always been my favorite season.

The view looking Northeast from my parents’ front door.
Northeast view from parents' front door

Pond full of geese at the McLean Game Refuge.
Goosepond

Small girl feeding geese with her dad.
Feeding Geese

Fork in the stream.
Fork in the stream

Moss will devour the world.
Moss

The next two pictures are of a different stream, which runs near my parents’ house. I spent an inordinate amount of time sitting on its banks when I was in high school. No, I didn’t have a social life, why do you ask?
Upstream

Downstream

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Wow. That is gorgeous. I would have spent an inordinate amount of time by the stream, too.

    At least they didn’t call it a “crick”, like they do in VA.

  2. 2

    Annika said,

    Say, that looks just like Connecticut! I miss Connecticut.

  3. 3

    Ellen Bloom said,

    Magnificent scenery! Wow!
    The only creek I’ve sat around is the Ballona Creek. It crosses Fairfax just north of Venice Blvd. It’s very urban. We call it the Fairfax Delta. Not half as inspiring as the McClean Game Refuge!

  4. 4

    miss kendra said,

    hippie.

    i mean that in the nicest possible way, but only because it’s directed at you.

    *smooch*

  5. 5

    elsewhere said,

    Yeah, it’s not really like central Australia. There’s water for a start. I see what you mean.

  6. 6

    Will said,

    I was about to say that we didn’t have a stream, but we did have a crick… and then I saw monkeygurrl’s post and thought: “whoops”.

    I’m not even from Virginy. But I love setting by moving water. 6 Thanksgivings ago, when Annika was in Chicago and we were missing each other ridiculously, some friends and I went up to a cabin not far from Big Bear. I spent a lot of time sitting by a little stream near the cabin. It’s nice watching stuff move by.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

