2007 is the year of living.

In 2006 I lost three friends, ranging in age from 26 to 69. One took her own life after finding out that her thyroid cancer was incurable, one died of heart failure after chronic complications from a gastric-bypass surgery she had three years ago, and, just this past weekend, one fell through the ice on a lake while cross-country skiing. Each of these people touched my life deeply, and I will hold them all in my heart forever.

I would like to place a moratorium on deaths for the next twelve months. Y’all hear that? No dying. I’m serious, people.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Annika said,

    I’m sorry about your friend. All three of them, of course, but especially this most recent loss.

  2. 2

    mandap said,

    Hey there.

    I am sending love cross-country. Can’t bring snow, but I can do that. Take care of you.

  3. 3

    nora said,

    I’m all for this year of the living thing. I had two funerals in 2006 myself. The first was gut-wrenching– an eighteen year old former student of mine was in a car accident and held on for several days before passing away. It seemed like such a waste, she was someone I had been desperately hoping would finally flourish when she had the opportunity to get out of her tiny suburban town and all the havoc it had wreaked on her soul. The second was my great aunt, who was one of the most lovely people you could ever hope to meet. It was very sad to lose her but as my dad’s cousin said, it kind of felt like she was happy now, to be back with her husband again.

  4. 4

    Celeste said,

    I’m so sorry. That is a lot of pain and loss in one year, for all of the lives that were touched by your friends.

    I hope 2007 will be full of live and love for you.

  5. 5

    Celeste said,

    Uh yeah, that’s LIFE and love.

    Mama needs coffeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

  6. 6

    bronnie said,

    Absolutely.. could not agree more. I’m very sorry for your losses.
    I’ve spent most of the Holidays in tears myself, as my dear Dad died on Dec.12th. He was 87– a long life well lived. While the passing of someone very old is certainly sad, it’s not a tragedy. But when someone relatively young goes well before their time.. let’s face it–everyone feels ripped off.
    Plus it’s a reminder of how no one, regardless of age or health, is guaranteed another day on this planet.

  7. 7

    uccellina said,

    Oh, Bronnie, I’m so sorry.

  8. 8

    Sachi said,

    I’m not going anywhere.

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re going through this.

  9. 9

    desiknitter said,

    Really sorry to hear about your friends, Uccellina. It is hard to deal with the death of people who are snatched away too early.
    My best wishes for the new year, though, I hope it is safe and fun for you.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment