Two posts in one!

1.

The particular genius of Laurie Perry, AKA Crazy Aunt Purl, is that she is able to convey complex emotional moments with quirky but exquisite illustrations and colloquial language. She doesn’t need elevated tones in order to be serious, and she doesn’t need jokes in order to be funny. (Usually.) When I read her writing, it’s as though she’s in the room, but in reality no one communicates that well in conversation. She has an ability to be naked on stage – metaphorically, people – that I envy deeply, as I am generally too afraid of judgment or confrontation to put my own crazy out for public consumption. That’s why I write fiction – because I’m not as brave as she is.

And now she has a book out! I bought it last night and read fifty pages before falling asleep with it on my chest. You all should read it too. You can get it at Amazon, but I would personally advise getting it at your local bookstore instead, because Amazon can’t seem to keep it in stock. That’s how great it is.
__________________________________________________________
2.

In honor of Laurie, and because she specifically requested it when I saw her last night, I will now post ultrasound photos taken this morning. When we saw the babies on the screen, they were bouncing all around. I watched each little hand and foot hit the edge of my uterus, and I tried to feel it as it happened, but alas, no success.

Baby 1

Baby 2

The doctor got better photos than these, which showed the babies measuring at 12 weeks 4 days and 12 weeks 6 days, but she kept them for herself. Pooh.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Laurie Ann said,

    Is Sac 1 giving us the finger?

  2. 2

    Laurie Ann said,

    And Sac 2 has a profile like Harold (without his purple crayon).
    You make cute babies.

  3. 3

    Husband said,

    No, Sac 1 Baby is just flashing the gang sign for their crib.

  4. 4

    Pam said,

    Husband just made me almost spit water on the computer screen.

  5. 5

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    Awwwww. Thems the cutest Sacs I’ve ever seen!

  6. 7

    Husband said,

    I don’t know whether or not two constitutes a GANG, but I have a feeling
    we will find out.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

