Babies should come with snooze buttons.

As far as sleep is concerned, we’ve been relatively lucky. I say this knowing I might evoke jealous rage in some of you, and possibly even incur vengeful tomato-throwing. But before you turn to your vegetable bin, let me reassure you, I’m only mentioning it because it might be over. In the last week, Robin has woken every half hour or so after being put down in his cosleeper, and Wren has decided that staying up until midnight is fun that should be shared by the whole family. By 1am, I am pinned on my back with a baby glued to each boob, and the rest of the night passes in fits of light snoozing interrupted by gymnastical gyrations on Wren’s part and fierce nipple-chewing on Robin’s.

So far the best thing about using cloth diapers is that I can one-handedly haul a baby back into position by grabbing only its bulky diaper-butt. This is quite useful after Wren has crawled in her sleep and has begun to fuss about not being able to reach the nipple from her new location by my right ear.

We’re still lucky, I know. But that won’t stop me from whining that I’m tired as I down my third cup of coffee.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    geckogrrl said,

    Ahh, don’t you love teething???

    I hope you get some sleep. I’ve been through far too many of those wake-up-every-hour nights with one — can’t imagine what it is like with two!

    I love cloth diapers for the same exact reason…

  2. 2

    julie said,

    Go ahead and whine! It’s just the teething, as geckogrrl already noted. It will pass…in between teeth…or, since you’ve got twins, after all their teeth are in =).

  3. 3

    husband said,

    Ahhh… THAT would explain the dreams I’ve been having about little things crawling all over me. I HAVE had Little Things crawling all over me.

  4. 5

    Susanna said,

    Hi, I can’t remember if I’ve commented before– I found your blog recently and have enjoyed learning your story. Is it ok if I post your link on my blog?

  5. 6

    uccellina said,

    Yes, of course! Link love always welcome.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

