Knitting and cats, so I don’t lose the rest of my readership.

Back in August, I hired a file clerk. She was a 28-year-old college student, majoring in Anthropology, who liked to knit. And – even better – she was far more organized than Lawyer and me put together. She found things I hadn’t even known were missing. She created space for files where before there had been none. She was bright, funny, and had great hair. I was in supervisor-heaven.

Then, shortly after the holidays, she e-mailed me to say she had abruptly moved away from L.A. to take care of her mother, who had been diagnosed with an agressive cancer. Naturally, I offered to knit her mom a chemo cap. Monkeygurrl had just done two caps that I liked, so I asked her for the patterns. Then I e-mailed the (ex-)file clerk.

“Is your mom more the Strong Women Dance type, or the Fuck Cancer type?”

“She’s kinda both, but the dancing lady would probably be more appropriate for everyday wear,” she responded. So that’s the one I made.

Chemo Cap - Strong Women Dance

Chemo Cap - Strong Women Dance (in sunlight!)

Both photos were taken with my cell phone camera, because my regular digital camera is on the blink. Pardon the quality. Or lack thereof.

(Oh – and to the MRA blogger who called me “Knitting Nellie,” thanks! I’m totally adopting that as my stage name.)

In other news, we had a scare with one of the kitties this week. Gawain was very, very sick with Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease; he developed a blockage that prevented him from urinating at all and caused him a lot of pain. (If you have male cats, please go read those links.)

He was at the vet for three days, and I may or may not have visited him each day. When I picked him up this morning, he was very pleased to see me.

Gawain at the Vet

Now he is home, eating his fancy new food and taking his fancy new medications, and we are considerably poorer than we were last week. When he’s feeling better, we’re going to make him get a job. He’d be a great hairstylist. Or maybe a professional ping-pong fashionista.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sara said,

    My Deano had that too! About 4 years ago, hhe developed crystals that kept him from peeing, and we almost had to get his pecker cut off because of it. But good news, with prescription food, he’s fine. So I’m sure Gawain will recover wonderfully, too. But vet treatment ain’t cheap, so I feel your pain.

  2. 2

    miss kendra said,

    gawain!!!! poor baby.

  3. 3

    A said,

    Glad to hear Gawain is feeling better. Our eldest kitty Bud had the same kind of episode long ago. We fed him the prescription more-per-pound-than-my-car food – for about 12 years! Definitely worth the expense to have a healthy, seemingly happy and comfy kitty for all that time.

  4. 4

    desiknitter said,

    the cap is beautiful. a friend of mine (not someone I know very well) was recently diagnosed with breast cancer. i have been wanting to knit her a chemo cap but am not sure how she’ll take it; not sure how to ask her if she wants one either. is it okay to take one with me when i go to see her (haven’t met her after she told me her diagnosis, but will be soon).

  5. 5

    uccellina said,

    I think if you are afraid she might be sensitive about the chemo cap, you don’t have to give the hat that name. I suppose it might be awkward to explicitly say “here’s a hat because you’ll be bald soon,” but I would hope a hand-knitted gift (especially one by a knitter as skilled as you are) would be welcome regardless of circumstance.

    That Rangoli hat you made recently would be lovely. I’m still waiting for you to write up that pattern 🙂

  6. 6

    Mom said,

    The cap is beautiful. It will keep her heart, as well as her head, warm.

    When a good friend of mine was diagnosed with breast cancer a number of years ago, I gave her earrings – long, dangly ones. I figured if she didn’t have hair, she could at least have silver. Of course, I couldn’t knit. I would agree with Uccellina that the gift would be welcome. But you might want to wait until she actually needs it.

  7. 7

    Sachi said,

    Beautiful cat… I mean hat.

    Poor Gawain. I’ve had cats with this affliction. It’s terribly distressing. I wish him a good recovery.

  8. 8

    desiknitter said,

    thanks, uccellina and mom (or indian style, should i say aunty!)! will make the cap for her. was thinking of shedir from knitty.
    and U, pattern cometh but slowly…

  9. 9

    MonkeyGurrl said,

    You’re adopting a stage name? For what, pray tell? Are you joining the Miss K twirly bandwagon?!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

